Vote Now!

ALUMNI will choose five new Overseers and six new elected directors for the Harvard Alumni Association (HAA) board in this year's election.

To be counted, all votes must be returned by noon on June 4. Results will be announced on June 10, Commencement Day, at the HAA annual meeting.

All Harvard degree holders except Corporation members and officers of instruction and government are entitled to vote for Overseer candidates. The election for HAA elected directors is open to all degree holders. If you have not received a ballot, contact the HAA.

Candidates, listed in order of appearance on the ballot, are:

For Overseer (six-year term, five to be elected):

Alan Bersin '68. Superintendent of public education, San Diego city schools, San Diego.

Helen Blau, Ph.D '75. Professor and chair, department of molecular pharmacology, Stanford University School of Medicine, Palo Alto, Calif.

Emily Mann '74. Artistic director, McCarter Theatre, Princeton, N.J.

Thomas Stephenson '64, M.B.A '66. General partner, Sequoia Capital, Menlo Park, Calif.

Merrick B. Garland '74, J.D. '77. Judge, U.S. Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit, Washing-





Overseer

Bersin

Blau

Mann

Yale







Stephenson

Garland

Fudge

ton, D.C. (Garland, a current Overseer, was elected in 2003 to fill out the unexpired term created by a resignation. He is now running for a full six-year term.)

Phyllis Yale '78, M.B.A. '82, Managing director, Bain & Co. Inc., Boston.

Ann Fudge, M.B.A. '77, chairwoman and CEO, Young & Rubicam Inc., New York City.

(The eighth Overseer nominee, Scott A. Abell '72, has withdrawn his candidacy after accepting a job with the Faculty of Arts and Sciences; see "Development Directors," page 76.)

For HAA Director (three-year term, six to be elected):

Ketanji Brown Jackson '92, J.D. '96. Assistant special counsel, U.S. Sentencing Commission, Washington, D.C.

Cynthia Torres '80, M.B.A '84. Director of marketing, Diamond Portfolio Advisors LLC, Santa Monica, Calif.

William H. Adler III '61, M.D. President, Wiltshire Associates Ltd., Severna Park, Md.

Denise Thal '77. Vice president and CFO, Henry Ford Museum and Greenfield Village, Dearborn, Mich.

Rebecca Miller Sykes '73. Associate head of school, Phillips Academy, Andover, Mass.

Sanjay Patel '83, S.M. '83. Co-president, GSC Partners, New York City.

Scott D. Malkin '80, J.D.-M.B.A. '83. Chairman, Value Retail PLC, London.

Robert E. Joyce '87. Director, Credit Suisse First Boston, Boston.

Deborah Ramirez, J.D. '81. Professor, Northeastern University School of Law, Boston.





Director

The HAA nominating committee proposes Overseer and elected director candidates each year. The committee's 13 voting members include three present or former Overseers and 10 other alumni chosen by the HAA Executive Committee. Overseer and HAA elected director candidates may also be nominated with petitions signed by a prescribed number of eligible degree holders and filed earlier in the year.

Patel

Malkin

Joyce

Ramirez

HARVARD MAGAZINE