Your independent source for Harvard news since 1898 | SUBSCRIBE

Your independent source for Harvard news since 1898

John Harvard's Journal

Honor Roll

July-August 2002

Prized Professors

From left to right: Stephen Rosen, William Todd III, Jeremy Bloxham, and Marc Hauser
Kris Snibbe / Harvard News Office

The Faculty of Arts and Sciences has recognized four of its senior members for excellence in teaching, awarding them five-year appointments as Harvard College Professors—a distinction that brings a semester of paid leave, commensurate summer salary, or funds in support of their scholarly work. They are professor of geophysics Jeremy Bloxham; professor of psychology Marc David Hauser; Stephen P. Rosen, Kaneb professor of national security and military affairs and director of the Olin Institute; and William Millis Todd III, Reisinger professor of Slavic languages and literatures and professor of comparative literature—and a former dean of undergraduate education....Two junior faculty members were singled out for their devotion to teaching undergraduates: Eileen Chow, assistant professor of Chinese literary and cultural studies, and J. Russell Muirhead Jr., assistant professor of government, received the Abramson Award.


Students' Teachers

The Undergraduate Council conferred its annual Levenson Awards for outstanding teaching at the senior and junior faculty and graduate student levels on professor of history James T. Kloppenberg; lecturer on the study of religion Brian C.W. Palmer; and Kathleen Holbrook, assistant senior tutor in Leverett House and a teaching fellow in one of Palmer's courses....The Phi Beta Kappans singled out James Engell, Gurney professor of English literature and professor of comparative literature; Howard Georgi, Mallinckrodt professor of physics (and master of Leverett House); and Peter A. Hall, Thomson professor of government, director of the Center for European studies, and a Harvard College Professor.

The Graduate Student Council bestowed excellence in mentoring awards upon professor of cell biology Joan S. Brugge (Medical School); assistant professor of biology Gonzalo Giribet; Cahner-Rabb professor of social and or-ganizational psychology J. Richard Hackman; Christopher Jencks, Wiener professor of social policy (Kennedy School); and Michael J. Puett, Loeb associate professor of the humanities.


Student Leader

Laura E. Clancy
Testaye Bizuayehu / Harvard News Office

Laura E. Clancy '02 ('03), of Leverett House and Wayne, Pennsylvania, has been named winner of the 2002 Harvard College Women's Leadership Award; an English concentrator, she is president of the Phillips Brooks House Association.


Communications Consultants

A team of four Harvard Business School students—Lisa D. Bourne, Tjada P. D'Oyen, Sitella A. Glenn, and Panya Lei Yarber—won a competition sponsored by Goldman, Sachs & Company to advise the new chief executive of AOL Time Warner on how to run his company. They defeated teams from Dartmouth and Yale. The advice? Forget synergy, and run each division as its own tub.


Political Prize

Sidney Verba
Brian Smith / Harvard University Library

Pforzheimer University Professor Sidney Verba, director of the Harvard University Library, received the Skytte Foundation's prize in political science from Sweden's Uppsala University for his empirical studies of political participation and its role in the functioning of democracy.