Your independent source for Harvard news since 1898 | SUBSCRIBE

Your independent source for Harvard news since 1898

John Harvard's Journal

Search Sources

July-August 2006

Fulfilling its pledge to create formal channels through which to hear faculty and student ideas and views, the Corporation-Overseer committee searching for a permanent successor to President Lawrence H. Summers announced on May 12 the membership of two advisory groups (see “Precedent-Setting Presidential Search,” May-June, page 66).

The faculty group is chaired by Pforzheimer University Professor Sidney Verba. Other members, and their affiliations, are: Lisa Berkman (Harvard School of Public Health); Richard Fallon (Harvard Law School); Stephen Greenblatt (Faculty of Arts and Sciences [FAS]); Evelyn Brooks Higginbotham (FAS); Amy Hollywood (Harvard Divinity School); Eric Jacobsen (FAS); Alex Krieger (Harvard Graduate School of Design); Ramesh Narayan (FAS); William Sahlman (Harvard Business School); Judith Singer (Harvard Graduate School of Education); Robert Stavins (Kennedy School of Government); and Christopher T. Walsh (Harvard Medical School).

The student group is chaired by Matthew Murray (Kennedy School/Law School). The other members are Whitney Baxter (Harvard College [HC]); Katherine Beck (HC); Sarah Carter (Graduate School of Arts and Sciences [GSAS]); Liza Ching (Kennedy School); Kerith Conron (School of Public Health); Emilie Dressaire (GSAS); Gillian Fell (Medical School); Christopher Fonzone (Law School); Mark McInroy (Divinity School); Owen Patrick (Business School); Vivek Ramaswamy (HC); Hanna Rodriguez-Farrar (Graduate School of Education); and Christopher White (Design School).

Comments may be sent in confidence to or by mail to Harvard University Presidential Search Committee, Loeb House, 17 Quincy Street, Cambridge 02138, or to any member of the advisory groups.