Your independent source for Harvard news since 1898 | SUBSCRIBE

Your independent source for Harvard news since 1898


Overseer and HAA Director Candidates

March-April 2019

This spring, alumni can vote for new Harvard Overseers and Harvard Alumni Association (HAA) elected directors. Ballots will be sent by April 1; completed ballots must be received by 5 p.m. EDT on May 21 to be counted. All holders of Harvard degrees, except Corporation members and officers of instruction and government, are entitled to vote for Overseer candidates. The election for HAA directors is open to all Harvard degree-holders.

Candidates for Overseer may also be nominated by petition. Eligible voters may go to for more information. (The deadline for all petitions was February 1.)

The HAA Nominating Committee has proposed the following candidates in 2019.*


For Overseer (six-year term):

Danguole Spakevicius Altman ’81, Houston. Founder, Vapogenix Inc.

Alice Hm Chen, M.P.H. ’01, Berkeley. Chief medical officer and deputy director, San Francisco Health Network

Scott C. Collins ’87, J.D. ’90, Boston. Managing director and COO, Summit Partners

Janet Echelman ’87, Brookline, Massachusetts. Visual artist, Studio Echelman

Vivian Hunt ’89, M.B.A. ’95, D.B.E., London. Managing partner, U.K. and Ireland, McKinsey & Company, Inc.

Tyler Jacks ’83, Cambridge. Director, Koch Institute for Integrative Cancer Research, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

John B. King Jr. ’96 (’95), Washington, D.C. President and CEO, The Education Trust

Reshma Saujani, M.P.P. ’99, New York City. Founder and CEO, Girls Who Code

Ryan Wise, Ed.L.D. ’13, Des Moines. Director, Iowa Department of Education


For elected director (three-year term)

George C. Alex ’81, Cohasset, Massachusetts. CEO, Twin Oaks Capital

Bryan C. Barnhill II ’08, Detroit. City manager, City Solutions, Ford Smart Mobility

Ethel Billie Branch ’01, J.D.-M.P.P ’08, Window Rock, Arizona. Attorney general, The Navajo Nation

Salomé Cisnal de Ugarte, LL.M. ’94, Brussels. Managing partner, Hogan Lovells

Adrienne E. Dominguez ’90, Dallas. Partner, intellectual property, Thompson & Knight LLP

Michael J. Gaw ’90, Alexandria, Virginia. Assistant director, division of trading and markets, U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission

Christina Lewis ’02, New York City. Founder and CEO, All Star Code

Zandile H. Moyo ’00, Indian Springs, Alabama. Consultant, strategy and financial advisory services

Derek C.M. van Bever, M.B.A. ’88, M.Div. ’11, Cambridge. Senior lecturer and director of the Forum for Growth & Innovation, Harvard Business School

*The HAA Nominating Committee has nominated nine candidates for Overseer, rather than the usual eight. This reflects an additional vacancy on the board created by the departure of James Hildreth ’79, who has stepped down in light of other professional obligations.

You Might Also Like: