Your independent source for Harvard news since 1898 | SUBSCRIBE

Your independent source for Harvard news since 1898


Your Vote Counts

May-June 2005

Alumni will choose five new Harvard Overseers and six new elected directors for the Harvard Alumni Association (HAA) in annual elections this spring.

To be counted, votes must be received by noon on June 3. Results will be announced at the HAA’s annual meeting on June 9, Commencement Day. All Harvard degree holders, except for Corporation members and officers of instruction and government, are entitled to vote for Overseer candidates. Voting for HAA directors is open to all alumni.

Candidates, listed in order of appearance on the ballot, are:

For Overseer (six-year term, five to be elected):


Mitchell L. Adams ’66, M.B.A. ’69. Executive director, Massachusetts Technology Collaborative, Dedham, Mass.

Gerald R. Jordan Jr. ’61, M.B.A. ’67. Investment adviser, president, Hellman, Jordan Management Co. Inc., Boston.

Peter R. MacLeish, Ph.D ’77. Professor and chairman, department of anatomy and neurobiology; director, Neuroscience Institute, Morehouse School of Medicine, Atlanta.

Anne Dhu McLucas, Ph.D ’75. Professor of music, chair of music history and ethnomusicology, University of Oregon, Eugene, Ore.

Seth P. Waxman ’73. Partner, Wilmer Cutler Pickering Hale and Dorr, Washington, D.C.

Enrique Hernandez Jr. ’77, J.D. ’80. Chairman, president, and CEO, Inter-Con Security Systems Inc., Pasadena, Calif.

Susan S. Wallach ’68, J.D. ’71. Special counsel, Schulte Roth & Zabel LLP, New York City.

Lisbet Rausing, Ph.D ’93. Senior research fellow, Imperial College, London, England.


Mitchell L. Adams Gerald R. Jordan Jr. Peter R. MacLeish Anne Dhu McLucas
Seth P. Waxman Enrique Hernandez Susan S. Wallach Lisbet Rausing

For HAA Director: (three-year term, six to be elected):

Christopher Gabrieli ’81. Chairman, Massachusetts 2020, Boston.

Rocky Delgadillo ’82. Los Angeles city attorney, Los Angeles.

Brooks Newmark ’80, M.B.A. ’84. Senior partner, Apollo Management LP, London, England.

Jennifer Flinton Diener ’67, M.B.A. ’72. Community volunteer, former senior vice president and member of the executive committee, American Medical International, Santa Monica, Calif.

Sarah Elizabeth Lewis ’01. Curatorial assistant, Museum of Modern Art, New York City.

Katharine Appleton Downes ’89. Assistant professor of pathology, Case Western Reserve; attending physician, University Hospitals of Cleveland, Cleveland.

Charis Menschel Drant ’97. Associate at Piper Rudnick, LLP, Washington, D.C.

Janet A. Moy ’75. Dermatologist; assistant clinical professor, New York University School of Medicine, New York City.

Keith A. James ’79, J.D. ’82. Shareholder, Shutts & Bowen, LLP, West Palm Beach, Fla.


HAA Director
Christopher Gabrieli Rocky Delgadillo Brooks Newmark Jennifer Flinton Diener
Sarah Elizabeth Lewis Katharine Appleton Downes Charis Menschel Drant Janet A. Moy
Keith A. James

The HAA nominating committee proposes Overseer and elected director candidates each year. The committee’s 13 voting members include three current or former Overseers and 10 other alumni chosen by the HAA Executive Committee. Overseer and HAA elected-director candidates may also be nominated with petitions signed by a prescribed number of eligible degree holders and filed earlier in the year.