Your independent source for Harvard news since 1898 | SUBSCRIBE

Your independent source for Harvard news since 1898

John Harvard's Journal

University People

July-August 2006

David E. Clapham Robert J. Sampson
Harvard Medical School Courtesy of Robert J. Sampson

Superior Scientists

The 72 new members of the National Academy of Sciences elected in April included six Harvard faculty members: David E. Clapham, Castaneda professor of cardiovascular research; Peter T. Ellison, Cowles professor of anthropology (and past dean of the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences); Claudia Goldin, Lee professor of economics; Eric J. Heller, professor of chemistry and physics; Charles H. Langmuir, professor of geochemistry; and Robert J. Sampson, Ford professor of the social sciences.


Arts and Sciences Fellows

Charles R. Alcock Richard H. Fallon
Phoebe Sexton / Harvard News Office Courtesy of Richard H. Fallon
William A. Graham Mark T. Keating
Jon Chase / Harvard News Office Harvard Medical School
Mary Waters
Kris Snibbe / Harvard News Office

Eight University affiliates were elected fellows of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences: professor of astronomy Charles R. Alcock (director of the Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astro- physics); Ropes professor of political economy Albert Alesina; Tyler professor in constitutional law Richard H. Fallon Jr.; O’Brian professor of divinity and Albertson professor of Middle Eastern studies William A. Graham (dean of Harvard Divinity School); professor of cell biology Mark T. Keating; the Kennedy School’s Steven E. Miller (director of the International Security Program); professor of economics James H. Stock; and professor of sociology Mary Waters.


Helping Humanities

Stephen Owen
Maggie Mastricola / Harvard News Office

Winners of the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation’s Distinguished Achievement Awards, recognizing “significant contributions to humanistic inquiry,” this year include Conant University Professor Stephen Owen, an authority on Chinese poetry. The awards, of up to $1.5 million each, support each scholar’s work and institution. Past Harvard winners include Cogan University Professor Stephen Greenblatt, Goelet professor of medieval history Michael McCormick, and Porter professor of philosophy Christine Korsgaard.


APS Honorands

Professors elected as members of the American Philosophical Society include Hobbs professor of cognition and education Howard E. Gardner; Conant University Professor Stephen Owen; Thomas professor of government and sociology Theda Skocpol, dean of the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences; and Huntington professor of oncologic medicine emeritus Paul C. Zamecnik.


Women of Achievement

JoAnn Manson
Harvard Medical School

Brigham professor of women’s health JoAnn Manson ’75, D.P.H. ’87, M.D., a principal investigator for several important studies of women’s health, received the College’s Women’s Professional Achievement Award. Graduating senior Lauren A.E. Schuker won the student Women’s Leadership Award; the Crimson president and Marshall Scholar will study at the Courtauld Institute of Art in London this fall.