News from the HAA

In Honored Company ... Pride of Place ... Comings and Goings ... Vote and Be Heard ...

In Honored Company

The Harvard Medals awarded annually since 1986 by the Harvard Alumni Association (HAA) honor extraordinary service to the University. President Neil L. Rudenstine will lead the applause for this year's recipients--Charlotte P. Armstrong '49, LL.B. '53, John G. Caulfield '50, and Louis I. Kane '53--at the HAA's annual meeting on the afternoon of Commencement day.

As a member of the Board of Overseers from 1993 to 1999 and its president in her final year, Charlotte P. Armstrong played an important role in the consolidation of Harvard and Radcliffe while honoring the history and identity of both. The former HAA elected director and president of the Harvard Law School Association now serves on the Faculty of Arts and Sciences' task force on women and leadership.

John G. Caulfield, once a Harvard assistant baseball coach, recently retired as assistant director of operations in the Harvard Athletics Department, where he supervised spectator accommodations at Soldiers Field for 50 years. Says senior associate director of athletics Fran Toland, "He knows 'Ten Thousand Men of Harvard' and then some."

Louis I. Kane has made fundraising for Harvard his second job. In addition to his successful tenure as cochair of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences Committee for The University Campaign, he was vice-chair of the Harvard College Fund and currently serves as its cochair. He has also been an active member of his class and served as an elected and appointed director of the HAA.


Pride of Place

By honored custom, each year's twenty-fifth reunion class elects one of its members chief marshal for Commencement. The class of 1975 has chosen former Radcliffe College trustee Gloria Wu, an ophthalmologist from Brookline, Massachusetts, as its standard-bearer this June. Her duties include hosting a luncheon for dignitaries on Commencement day.

Members of the class of 2000 elected their marshals last fall, giving them lots of time to plan festivities. Scheduled to lead their classmates into Commencement week events are first marshal Justin M. Krebs, of Mather House and Highland Park, New Jersey; Christopher Amar, of Cabot House and Lexington, Massachusetts; Adam Davis Colvin, of Currier House and Edgewood, Kentucky; Sameera Fazili, of Winthrop House and Buffalo, New York; Terrence (Terry) McGovern, of Leverett House and Newtown, Connecticut; Terrence Murphy McNeil, of Quincy House and Winthrop, Massachusetts; Robert Scott Schwartz, of Eliot House and Swampscott, Massachusetts; and Gwen Yih-June Shen, of Kirkland House and Hillsborough, California .


Comings and Goings

Not everyone can get to Cambridge for an HAA-sponsored Alumni College, so the HAA speakers bureau helps local Harvard clubs lure University speakers afield --as far as Anchorage, for example, where historian John Coatsworth will talk about Latin America's place in world affairs on June 13. Also scheduled this spring: historian Akira Iriye discussing globalism and American policy in Dallas on May 5 and in Hingham, Massachusetts, on May 23; government professor Paul Peterson examining public-school reform and school vouchers at the Harvard Club of Central New York on May 3; University marshal Richard Hunt describing "Harvard on the World Stage" at the Harvard Club of Western Pennsylvania on May 9; astrophysicist David Layzer pondering "Chance and Choice" in Kansas City on May 11; and Bach scholar Christoph Wolff addressing Harvard club members in St. Louis on May 20.

Vote and Be Heard

Ballots listing this year's candidates for the Board of Overseers and for elected director of the Harvard Alumni Association (HAA) went into the mail early in April; they must be returned by noon on June 2 to be counted. All Harvard degree holders (except Corporation members and officers of instruction and government of the University) are entitled to vote for Overseers; all degree holders may vote for HAA directors. The election results will be announced on the afternoon of Commencement day, June 8, during the HAA's annual meeting.

All of the nominees this year were selected by the HAA's nominating committee. The candidates' photographs appear at right in alphabetical order, but the listing below presents their names in the order in which they appear on the ballots. More complete information about all the nominees appears in the materials mailed with the election ballots.

For Overseer (six-year term, five to be elected):

Aida Alvarez '71. Washington, D.C. Small Business Administration.

Barbara Schultz Robinson, HRPBA '52; A.B. '51 Wellesley College. Cleveland, Ohio. Chair, Ohio Arts Council.

Steven A. Schroeder, M.D. '64; A.B. '60 Stanford University. Princeton, N.J. President and CEO, Robert Wood Johnson Foundation.

M. Lee Pelton, Ph.D. '84; A.B. '74 Wichita State University. Salem, Ore. President, Willamette University.

Andrew K. Ludwick '67, M.B.A. '69. Palo Alto, Cal. Founder, former president, and CEO, Bay Networks Inc.; private investor.

Patti B. Saris '73, J.D. '76. Boston. U.S. district court judge.

Franklin W. Hobbs '69, M.B.A. '72. New York City. Former chairman, Warburg Dillon Read.

Anne M. Sweeney, Ed.M. '80; A.B. '79 College of New Rochelle. Los Angeles. President, Disney/ABC Cable Networks and Disney Channel.


alvarez hobbs ludwick pelton
Alverez Hobbs Ludwick Pelton
robinson saris schroeder sweeney
Robinson Saris Schroeder Sweeney


For HAA Director (three-year term, six to be elected):

John C. Yoo '89; J.D. '92 Yale Law School. Berkeley, Cal. Professor, Boalt Hall School of Law, University of California, Berkeley.

Felicia D. Phillips, S.B. '88. Atlanta. Sales operations manager, BellSouth Business.

Eva M. Plaza '80; J.D. '84 Boalt Hall School of Law, University of California, Berkeley. Washington, D.C. Assistant secretary for fair housing and equal opportunity, U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development.

Victoria Hamilton '75, M.B.A. '79. New York City. Acting COO, Source Media Inc.; Principal, Washington Advisory Group.

Walter H. Morris Jr. '73, M.B.A. '75. Washington, D.C. Partner, Ernst & Young.

Susan M. Williams '77, J.D. '81.
Albuquerque, N.M. Partner, Williams, Janov & Cooney, PC.

Scott C. Collins '87, J.D. '90. Boston. Principal, Summit Partners.

F. Barton Harvey '71, M.B.A. '74. Baltimore. Chair and CEO, The Enterprise Foundation.

Barbara J. Wu, Ph.D. '81; A.B. '75 Smith College. Chicago. Homemaker.

You might also like

Steven Pinker on Apple’s Vision Pro

Professor of psychology on the science and history behind the Vision Pro.

The State of Black America

Harvard African American scholars take stock of a difficult moment. 

Threats Foreign and Domestic

Joseph Nye discusses geopolitics and Harvard’s challenges.

Most popular

Broadsheet Coffee Roasters

An antidote to Starbucksification?

Jorge Domínguez to Retire Amid Sexual Harassment Allegations

The announcement comes one week after The Chronicle of Higher Education reported that 10 women accused Domínguez of sexual harassment. 

Latest Arrivals

Best new restaurants in and around Cambridge

More to explore

Photograph of Winthrop Bell 1910

Winthrop Bell

Brief life of a philosopher and spy: 1884-1965

Illustration of people talking to each other with colorful thought bubbles above their heads

Talking about Talking

Fostering healthy disagreement

Vacationing with a Purpose

New England “summer camps” for adults