Election Results

The names of the new members of the Board of Overseers and new directors of the Harvard Alumni Association (HAA) were announced at the association's annual meeting on the afternoon of Commencement day. The 31,176 alumni who voted in the two elections represented a turnout of 14.4 percent.

The Overseers, elected for six-year terms, are:

Alan D. Bersin '68. Superintendent of public education, San Diego Unified School District, San Diego.

Helen M. Blau, Ph.D. '75. Baxter professor and director of the Baxter Laboratory of Genetic Pharmacology, Stanford University School of Medicine, Palo Alto.

Ann M. Fudge, M.B.A. '77. Chairwoman and CEO, Young & Rubicam Inc., New York City.

Merrick B. Garland '74, J.D. '77. Judge, U.S. Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit, Washington, D.C. (Garland, a current Overseer, was elected in 2003 to fill an unexpired term; this time he was elected to a full six-year term.)

Thomas Stephenson '64, M.B.A. '66. General partner, Sequoia Capital, Menlo Park, California.

The HAA directors, elected for three-year terms, are:

William H. Adler III '61, M.D. President, Wiltshire Associates Ltd., Severna Park, Maryland.

Ketanji Brown Jackson '92, J.D. '96. Assistant special counsel, U.S. Sentencing Commission, Washington, D.C.

Scott D. Malkin '80, J.D.-MBA '83. Chairman, Value Retail PLC, London.

Sanjay Patel '83, S.M. '83. Co-president, GSC Partners, New York City.

Deborah Ramirez, J.D. '81. Professor, Northeastern University School of Law, Boston.

Denise Ann Thal '77. Vice president and CFO, Henry Ford Greenfield Village, Dearborn, Michigan.

The HAA nominating committee proposes Overseer and elected director candidates each year, and candidates may also be nominated independently. All Harvard degree holders except Corporation members and officers of instruction and government are entitled to vote for Overseer candidates using ballots mailed by the HAA each spring.

In their own annual election, the Overseers chose Thomas E. Everhart '53, of Santa Barbara, as their new president. Everhart, who is president emeritus of the California Institute of Technology, succeeds C. Dixon Spangler Jr., M.B.A. '56.      

You might also like

John Manning Appointed Interim Provost

Harvard Law School dean moves to central administration

Facebook’s Failures

Author and tech journalist Jeff Horwitz speaks at Harvard.

Kevin Young Named 2024 Harvard Arts Medalist

Museum director and poet to be honored April 24

Most popular

Harvard Files Amicus Brief in Graduate Student Unionization Case

The University argues that the relationship between graduate students and universities should remain academic, not managerial, and student labor unions would “damage private sector graduate education.”

Labor Litigator

Attorney Shannon Liss-Riordan takes on the app economy.

A Postmodern Youth

Tahmima Anam’s Bengal trilogy finds a resting place.

More to explore

Photograph of Winthrop Bell 1910

Winthrop Bell

Brief life of a philosopher and spy: 1884-1965

Illustration of people talking to each other with colorful thought bubbles above their heads

Talking about Talking

Fostering healthy disagreement

Vacationing with a Purpose

New England “summer camps” for adults