Overseer and HAA Director Candidates

This spring, alumni can vote for five new Harvard Overseers and six new elected directors of the Harvard Alumni Association (HAA).

Ballots, mailed out by April 1, must be received back in Cambridge by noon on May 20 to be counted. Election results will be announced at the HAA’s annual meeting on May 26, on the afternoon of Commencement day. All holders of Harvard degrees, except Corporation members and officers of instruction and government, are entitled to vote for Overseer candidates. The election for HAA directors is open to all Harvard degree-holders.

Candidates for Overseer may also be nominated by petition if they obtain a prescribed number of signatures (201 this year) from eligible degree-holders. Lists of signatures for five potential candidates were submitted by the February 1 deadline; for more information, see hereUpdated February 20, 2016: The petition candidates qualified for the ballot, according to a University announcement; the full slate of candidates is published here.

The HAA’s nominating committee has proposed the following candidates.


For Overseer (six-year term):

P. Lindsay Chase-Lansdale ’74, Evanston, Illinois. Associate provost for faculty and Frances Willard professor of human development and social policy, Northwestern University.

Helena Buonanno Foulkes ’86, M.B.A. ’92, Providence, Rhode Island. President, CVS/pharmacy; executive vice president, CVS Health.

Karen Falkenstein Green ’78, J.D. ’81, ALI ’15, Boston. Senior partner, Wilmer Cutler Pickering Hale and Dorr, LLP.

Ketanji Brown Jackson ’92, J.D. ’96, Washington, D.C. Judge, United States District Court.

John J. Moon ’89, Ph.D. ’94, New York City. Managing director, Morgan Stanley.

Alejandro Ramírez Magaña ’94, M.B.A. ’01, Mexico City. CEO, Cinépolis.

Kent Walker ’83, Palo Alto. Senior vice president and general counsel, Google Inc.

Damian Woetzel, M.P.A. ’07, Roxbury, Connecticut. Artistic director, Vail International Dance Festival; director, Aspen Institute Arts Program, DEMO (Kennedy Center), and independent projects.


For Elected Director (three-year term):

Janet Nezhad Band ’83, M.B.A. ’89, J.D. ’90, New York City. Development consultant to nonprofit organizations.

Rye Barcott, M.B.A.-M.P.A.’09, Charlotte, North Carolina. Managing partner and co-founder, Double Time Capital.

David Battat ’91, New York City. President and CEO, Atrion Corporation.

Susan M. Cheng, M.P.P. ’04, Ed.LD. ’13, Washington, D.C. Senior associate dean for diversity and inclusion, Georgetown University School of Medicine.

Farai N. Chideya ’90, New York City. Distinguished writer in residence, Arthur L. Carter Journalism Institute, New York University.

Trey Grayson ’94, Fort Mitchell, Kentucky. President and CEO, Northern Kentucky Chamber of Commerce.

Victor Jih, J.D. ’96, Los Angeles. Litigation partner, Irell and Manella LLP.

Eliana Murillo ’10, San Francisco. Head of multicultural marketing, Google Inc.

Michael C. Payne ’77, M.D. ’81, M.P.H. ’82, Cambridge. Attending physician, department of internal medicine, division of gastroenterology, Cambridge Health Alliance.

Sub topics

You might also like

“Edifying and Beautiful”

Botanical illustrations on display at Harvard’s rare book library

Sarah Ganz Blythe New Art Museums Director

Assumes Harvard post in August

Taking Climate Action at Harvard

Focusing on prime polluting industries, plus politics and policy

Most popular

Lord Mayor for a Day

Harvard's Michael Mainelli, the 695th Lord Mayor of London.

Heads of the Parade

And a precedent-setting eightieth Harvard reunion

Parks for Tomorrow

Bas Smets harnesses nature to cool cities.

More to explore

Architect Kimberly Dowell is Changing Her Profession

Kimberly Dowdell influences her profession—and the built environment.

Harvard Professor on Printmaking

An art historian analyzes an overlooked medium.

Dream Renovations to Harvard Yard Libraries

An ambitious plan for the next century of learning