Headlines from Harvard’s history

Headlines from Harvard’s history

Illustration by Mark Steele

1923

The Bulletin notes, without comment, a report in The Harvard Crimson that the Ku Klux Klan has an organization at Harvard, and the first step toward a Harvard branch was taken two years earlier.

1938

The Graduate School of Public Administration (forerunner of the Kennedy School) opens its first regular session with 15 students, 10 of them veterans of federal government service.

1953

Harvard’s new president, Nathan Marsh Pusey, has visited football practice twice during his walks around the University, part of a self-imposed refresher course during which, he says, he is “finding things I did not know existed.”

1963

The 1962-63 Treasurer’s Report indicates that Harvard’s expenses, for the first time, approximate $100 million.

Bursar’s cards are replaced by plastic student identification cards, in part to speed up operations at Widener Library’s circulation desk.

1968

The University Barbershop on the corner of Mass. Ave. and Plympton Street has closed after more than 80 years of service. Co-owner Allen Moloney, son of the founder, laments that most Harvardians are shunning the shears in favor of more substantial decoration for the gray matter below.

1973

A gift from the Andrew H. Mellon Foundation establishes Harvard’s first professorship in African history; Kenneth O. Dike is named the first incumbent.

1978

President Bok announces that the CIA has chosen to ignore a request that all government agencies reveal any contracts, covert operations, and consulting agreements with Harvard personnel. University guidelines urge community members to avoid participation in intelligence operations.

Related topics

You might also like

Derek Bok donated his car for a good cause.

A theatrical reenactment explores a 1976 clash between science and democracy.

In a sea of red brick, the Science Center and Peabody Terrace make their mark.

Most popular

All That’s Unseen charts the Harvard graduate’s uneasy journey from Appalachia to Cambridge and back.  

In 1954, Gregory Corso moved into Eliot House. How he stayed there is a literary legend.

After a final round of layoffs, University leaders say 165 staff jobs were eliminated across the division.

Explore More From Current Issue

A vibrant illustration of a red car parked, surrounded by cheerful people and historic buildings.

Derek Bok donated his car for a good cause.

A woman with curly blonde hair sits casually against a stone wall, wearing a black top and jeans.

Chloe Chapin trains her Broadway costume designer’s eye on the history of men’s fashion.

A woman with long, wavy hair wearing a white suit, seated in a bright, modern room.

The Harvard graduate’s roundtable talk show touches on hot button issues from religion to sex.