University People

Scholars at the Summit

Photograph by Aynsley Ford

Vamsi K. Mootha

Photograph by Kris Snibbe/HPAC

Jeff W. Lichtman

Photograph by Kris Snibbe/HPAC

Andrew W. Murray

The National Academy of Sciences has elected 11 professors to membership. From Harvard Medical School come: Bruce P. Bean, Winthrop professor of neurobiology; Emery N. Brown, Zapol professor of anaesthesia; Timothy J. Mitchison, Sabbagh professor of systems biology; Vamsi K. Mootha, professor of systems biology and of medicine; and Martin R. Pollak, professor of medicine. New members from the Faculty of Arts and Sciences include: Daniel Eisenstein, professor of astronomy; Drew Fudenberg, Abbe professor of economics; Lawrence F. Katz, Allison professor of economics; Jeff W. Lichtman, Knowles professor of molecular and cellular biology and Ramon y Cajal professor of arts and sciences; Andrew W. Murray, Smith professor of molecular genetics; and Subir Sachdev, professor of physics. To learn more about their work, and about the 11 alumni from other institutions who were also elected, visit 2014/05/national-academy-of-sciences- adds-harvard-members-2014.

Classroom Champions

Photograph by Kris Snibbe/HPAC

Mahzarin Banaji

Photograph by Jon Chase/HPAC

David Cutler

The Faculty of Arts and Sciences conferred Harvard College Professorships (its highest honor for distinguished undergraduate teaching and advising, consisting of a five-year title plus incremental research funding) on five faculty members: Mahzarin Banaji, Cabot professor of social ethics (a psychologist); David Cutler, Eckstein professor of applied economics; Hopi Hoekstra, professor of organismic and evolutionary biology and molecular and cellular biology; Melissa McCormick, professor of Japanese art and culture; and Greg Morrisett, Cutting professor of computer science. For background information on each, and details on other teaching and advising honors, see harvard-honors-teaching-faculty.

Pulitzer Portrait

Courtesy of Megan Marshall

Megan Marshall

Megan Marshall ’77, RI ’07, was awarded the Pulitzer Prize for biography, for Margaret Fuller: A New American Life. Among the finalists for this year’s prizes were: Bernbaum professor of literature Leo Damrosch (biography, for Jonathan Swift: His Life and His World); Rebecca Davis O’Brien ’06 (local reporting, for coverage of heroin in the northern New Jersey suburbs; O’Brien was one of this magazine’s Ledecky Undergraduate Fellows in the 2003-2004 academic year); and John Adams ’69, A.M. ’72, D.Mus. ’12 (music, for The Gospel According to the Other Mary).

Radcliffe’s Roster

Photograph by Stephanie Mitchell/HPAC

Ann Blair

Photograph by Stephanie Mitchell/HPAC

Nancy E. Hill

Photograph by Stephanie Mitchell/HPAC

Lakshminarayanan Mahadevan

Eleven faculty affiliates are among the Radcliffe Institute’s 50 fellows for the 2014-2015 academic year: Ann Blair, Lea professor of history; Matthew B. Boyle, professor of philosophy; Noam D. Elkies, professor of mathematics; Nancy E. Hill, professor of education; Lakshminarayanan Mahadevan, England de Valpine professor of applied mathematics, of organismic and evolutionary biology, and of physics (the subject of the magazine’s March-April 2008 cover story, “The Physics of the Familiar”); Erez Manela, professor of history; Alexander Rehding, Peabody professor of music (whose work on rethinking the humanities curriculum is featured in “Toward Cultural Citizenship,” May-June); Kathryn A. Sikkink, Ryan Family professor of human-rights policy; Carol S. Steiker, Friendly professor of law; Felix Warneken, associate professor of psychology; and Bruce Western, professor of sociology and Guggenheim professor of criminal justice (profiled in the magazine’s March-April 2013 cover story, “The Prison Problem”).

Campus Services Czar

Meredith Weenick ’90, M.B.A. ’02, has been appointed Harvard’s vice president for campus services, effective July 14. Following a variety of experiences within Boston’s municipal government, she became the city’s chief financial officer in 2010. At the University, she will oversee facilities and property management, residential and commercial real estate, dining, engineering and utilities, transportation and parking, international student services, environmental health and safety, emergency management, and the Common Spaces program. Weenick will report to executive vice president Katie Lapp. (Harvard Magazine Inc. reports to campus services for financial and budgeting purposes.)

Parliamentary Professor

Gardiner professor of oceanic history and affairs Sugata Bose, an historian of India and grand-nephew of Subhas Chandra Bose, the Indian nationalist, was voted into India’s parliament from Jadavpur, in the city of Kolkata, during that nation’s watershed election in May. The New York Times, which reported on his campaign, indicated he would take a public-service leave.

You might also like

Slow and Steady

A Harvard Law School graduate completes marathons in all 50 states.  

Claudine Gay in First Post-Presidency Appearance

At Morning Prayers, speaks of resilience and the unknown

The Dark History Behind Chocolate

A Harvard course on the politics and culture of food

Most popular

Harvard College Reinstitutes Mandatory Testing

Applicants for the class of 2029 must submit scores.

Claudine Gay in First Post-Presidency Appearance

At Morning Prayers, speaks of resilience and the unknown

AWOL from Academics

Behind students' increasing pull toward extracurriculars

More to explore

Winthrop Bell

Brief life of a philosopher and spy: 1884-1965

Capturing the American South

Photographs at the Addison Gallery of American Art 

The Happy Warrior Redux

Hubert Humphrey’s liberalism reconsidered