University People

Danielle S. Allen
Photograph by Kris Snibbe/HPAC

Dani Rodrik
Photograph by Stephanie Mitchell/HPAC

Honor Roll

Conant University Professor Danielle S. Allen has been awarded the Kluge Prize for Achievement in the Study of Humanity. The prize, announced by the Librarian of Congress, recognizes her leadership in civic education; she is principal investigator of the Democratic Knowledge Project, which aims to disseminate the knowledge and capacities required for democratic citizenship. Allen (profiled in “The Egalitarian,” May-June 2016, page 40) will collaborate with the library on a project to involve institutions and the public in civic engagement. The prize carries a $500,000 honorarium. President emerita Drew Gilpin Faust was the 2018 Kluge honorand.…Ford Foundation professor of international political economy Dani Rodrik (profiled in “The Trilemma,” July-August 2019, page 46) has received the 2020 Princess of Asturias Award for Social Sciences for his pioneering work in political economy and his analysis of globalization and international economic relations. The honor is accompanied by a €50,000 award.…Professor of medicine Joel Habener, director of the Laboratory of Molecular Endocrinology at Massachusetts General Hospital, and scientists in Copenhagen and Toronto received the 2020 Warren Alpert Prize—among the most prestigious in medicine—in recognition of their fundamental discoveries in metabolism. The trio will share a $500,000 award.

New Heads of Houses

Remaking much of the undergraduate House leadership, Harvard College dean Rakesh Khurana on June 11 named five new sets of faculty deans (including his own family’s successors). They are: professor of history Ian Miller and his spouse, Crate Herbert (Cabot, succeeding Rakesh and Stephanie Khurana); professor of ecclesiastical history Kevin Madigan and professor of the practice of Christian studies Stephanie Paulsell (Eliot, succeeding Douglas Melton and his spouse, Gail O’Keefe); professor of public policy David Deming and his spouse, Janine Santimauro (Kirkland, succeeding Verena Conley and Tom Conley); professor of government Eric Beerbohm and his spouse, Leslie Duhaylongsod (Quincy, succeeding Lee Gehrke and his late spouse, Deb Gehrke); and professor of computer science Stephen Chong and Kiran Gajwani, associate director of undergraduate advising in the economics department (Winthrop, succeeding interim faculty deans Mark Gearan and his spouse, Mary Herlihy-Gearan). For more information, including other academic titles and spousal roles, see

Melanie Matchett Wood
Photograph by Philip Matchett Wood

Math’s Changing Makeup

Following the appointment of Lauren Williams to a tenured position in the mathematics department in 2018 (only the second tenured woman in its history), its newest members include Laura DeMarco, her husband Mihnea Popa, and Melanie Matchett Wood—each as professor of mathematics.

Eric Doppstadt
Photograph courtesy of the Ford Foundation


Eric Doppstadt, vice president and chief investment officer of the Ford Foundation (with $12.6 billion in assets), has been elected to the Harvard Management Company board of directors.…Craig Leonard, previously executive vice president and chief financial officer, has been elected president and chief executive officer of the Harvard University Employees Credit Union, succeeding Gene Foley, who retired in July after 25 years of service in those roles.

Sub topics

You might also like

Historic Humor

University Archives to preserve Harvard Lampoon materials

Academia’s Absence from Homelessness

“The lack of dedicated research funding in this area is a major, major problem.”

The Enterprise Research Campus, Part Two

Tishman Speyer signals readiness to pursue approval for second phase of commercial development.  

Most popular

Harvard Portrait: Martin Puchner

The English professor has already written three books and edited the 6,000-page third edition of the Norton Anthology of World Literature.

Claudine Gay in First Post-Presidency Appearance

At Morning Prayers, speaks of resilience and the unknown

Who Built the Pyramids?

Not slaves. Archaeologist Mark Lehner, digging deeper, discovers a city of privileged workers.

More to explore

Exploring Political Tribalism and American Politics

Mina Cikara explores how political tribalism feeds the American bipartisan divide.

Private Equity in Medicine and the Quality of Care

Hundreds of U.S. hospitals are owned by private equity firms—does monetizing medicine affect the quality of care?

Construction on Commercial Enterprise Research Campus in Allston

Construction on Harvard’s commercial enterprise research campus and new theater in Allston