University People

David E. Clapham Robert J. Sampson
Harvard Medical School Courtesy of Robert J. Sampson

Superior Scientists

The 72 new members of the National Academy of Sciences elected in April included six Harvard faculty members: David E. Clapham, Castaneda professor of cardiovascular research; Peter T. Ellison, Cowles professor of anthropology (and past dean of the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences); Claudia Goldin, Lee professor of economics; Eric J. Heller, professor of chemistry and physics; Charles H. Langmuir, professor of geochemistry; and Robert J. Sampson, Ford professor of the social sciences.


Arts and Sciences Fellows

Charles R. Alcock Richard H. Fallon
Phoebe Sexton / Harvard News Office Courtesy of Richard H. Fallon
William A. Graham Mark T. Keating
Jon Chase / Harvard News Office Harvard Medical School
Mary Waters
Kris Snibbe / Harvard News Office

Eight University affiliates were elected fellows of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences: professor of astronomy Charles R. Alcock (director of the Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astro- physics); Ropes professor of political economy Albert Alesina; Tyler professor in constitutional law Richard H. Fallon Jr.; O’Brian professor of divinity and Albertson professor of Middle Eastern studies William A. Graham (dean of Harvard Divinity School); professor of cell biology Mark T. Keating; the Kennedy School’s Steven E. Miller (director of the International Security Program); professor of economics James H. Stock; and professor of sociology Mary Waters.


Helping Humanities

Stephen Owen
Maggie Mastricola / Harvard News Office

Winners of the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation’s Distinguished Achievement Awards, recognizing “significant contributions to humanistic inquiry,” this year include Conant University Professor Stephen Owen, an authority on Chinese poetry. The awards, of up to $1.5 million each, support each scholar’s work and institution. Past Harvard winners include Cogan University Professor Stephen Greenblatt, Goelet professor of medieval history Michael McCormick, and Porter professor of philosophy Christine Korsgaard.


APS Honorands

Professors elected as members of the American Philosophical Society include Hobbs professor of cognition and education Howard E. Gardner; Conant University Professor Stephen Owen; Thomas professor of government and sociology Theda Skocpol, dean of the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences; and Huntington professor of oncologic medicine emeritus Paul C. Zamecnik.


Women of Achievement

JoAnn Manson
Harvard Medical School

Brigham professor of women’s health JoAnn Manson ’75, D.P.H. ’87, M.D., a principal investigator for several important studies of women’s health, received the College’s Women’s Professional Achievement Award. Graduating senior Lauren A.E. Schuker won the student Women’s Leadership Award; the Crimson president and Marshall Scholar will study at the Courtauld Institute of Art in London this fall.

You might also like

A Call for Precision

Harvard Kennedy School researchers on how to report pro-Israeli and pro-Palestinian protests accurately 

Bearing Witness to Terrorism

Harvard Chabad, IDF, and Bill Ackman screen October 7 Hamas footage

More Housing in Allston

Toward another apartment complex on Harvard-owned land

Most popular

A Fast Start

First-years Ngozi Musa and Gabby Thomas help set the pace for track and field.

Harvard Endowment Decreases by $1.9 Billion on Negative Investment Returns

A negative investment return and annual spending reduce the endowment’s value 5.1 percent.

Outside In

The director of Head Over Heels and The Star, on animation's different dimensions

More to explore

Illustration of a box containing a laid-off fossil fuel worker's office belongings

Preparing for the Energy Transition

Expect massive job losses in industries associated with fossil fuels. The time to get ready is now.

Apollonia Poilâne standing in front of rows of fresh-baked loaves at her family's flagship bakery

Her Bread and Butter

A third-generation French baker on legacy loaves and the "magic" of baking

Illustration that plays on the grade A+ and the term Ai

AI in the Academy

Generative AI can enhance teaching and learning but augurs a shift to oral forms of student assessment.