Your independent source for Harvard news since 1898 | SUBSCRIBE

Your independent source for Harvard news since 1898


New Leaders

July-August 2007

The names of the new members of the Board of Overseers and the new elected directors of the Harvard Alumni Association (HAA) were announced at the association’s annual meeting on the afternoon of Commencement day. The 28,888 alumni ballots received in the two elections represent a turnout of 13 percent.

Elected as Overseers, for six-year terms, were:

Ronald Cohen, M.B.A. ’69. London. Chairman, Portland Capital and The Portland Trust.

Lucy Fisher ’71. Los Angeles. Film producer and co-head of Red Wagon Entertainment.

Richard A. Meserve, J.D. ’75. Washington, D.C. President, Carnegie Institution of Washington.

Richard R. Schrock, Ph.D. ’71, Cambridge. Keyes professor of chemistry at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Stephanie D. Wilson, S.B. ’88. Houston. NASA astronaut.

Elected as HAA directors, for three-year terms, were:

Stephen W. Baird ’74. Chicago. President and CEO, Baird & Warner Inc.

Elena C. Crespo ’89, M.B.A. ’93. New York City. Senior vice president, director of client management, Citi Analytics, Citigroup Inc.

Catherine A. Gellert ’93. New York City. Partner, Windcrest Partners.

B. Lane MacDonald ’88. Boston. General partner, Alta Communications.

Phuong-Vien Nguyen ’86. Corona del Mar, California. Vice president, Morgan Stanley.

Nana Amma Twum-Danso ’94, M.D. ’98. Decatur, Georgia. Physician; director, Mebendazole Donation Initiative, The Task Force for Child Survival and Development, Emory University.