SEAS Dean Murray Appointed to BP Deepwater Horizon Oil Spill Commission

President Obama announces the remaining members of the seven-person investigating commission.

Cherry A. Murray

President Barack Obama, J.D. '91, has announced his intention to appoint physicist Cherry A. Murray, dean of the School of Engineering and Applied Sciences, to the seven-member National Commission on the BP Deepwater Horizon Oil Spill and Offshore Drilling.

The text of the White House news release is here.

Background on Murray from Harvard Magazine appears here; her SEAS biography and research profile are here.

The commission is co-chaired by a pair of Harvard Law School alumni: former Florida governor and U.S. Senator Bob Graham, LL.B. '62, and William K. Reilly, J.D. '65, who was administrator of the Environmental Protection Agency under President George H.W. Bush; in that capacity, Reilly oversaw the federal response to the Exxon Valdez oil spill in Alaska in 1989.



You might also like

Steven Pinker on Apple’s Vision Pro

Professor of psychology on the science and history behind the Vision Pro.

The State of Black America

Harvard African American scholars take stock of a difficult moment. 

Threats Foreign and Domestic

Joseph Nye discusses geopolitics and Harvard’s challenges.

Most popular

An Authentic Act

Basketball coach Kathy Delaney-Smith navigates players’ gender and sexual identity, mental health, and other challenging social issues.

Mass Audubon Ushers in the Spring

Exploring nature through Mass Audubon

Blindspot: A Novel

History professor Jill Lepore is the coauthor, with Jane Kamensky, of the historical novel Blindspot, set in colonial Boston.

More to explore

Photograph of Winthrop Bell 1910

Winthrop Bell

Brief life of a philosopher and spy: 1884-1965

Illustration of people talking to each other with colorful thought bubbles above their heads

Talking about Talking

Fostering healthy disagreement

Vacationing with a Purpose

New England “summer camps” for adults