Dunster Demolition

An update on the first renovation of an entire Harvard House

View of Dunster House, the first residence for upperclassmen to undergo full renewal, from Memorial Drive. Seven weeks after the reconstruction project began, Dunster is almost completely scaffolded, and its iron gate has been removed.

View of Dunster House, the first residence for upperclassmen to undergo full renewal, from Memorial Drive. Seven weeks after the reconstruction project began, Dunster is almost completely scaffolded, and its iron gate has been removed. | Photograph by Harvard Magazine/JC

Approximately seven weeks after the construction project began, the renewal of Dunster House is in full swing. The perimeter of one of the oldest dormitories for upperclassmen is almost completely scaffolded; only its iconic red and white tower looks intact. Trees and plants have been removed from the courtyard, and the grass has been covered with gravel to accommodate equipment and the construction workers. The monumental iron gate facing the Charles River is no longer in place—nor is the iron fence that used to separate the House from Memorial Drive. According to the on-site bulletin, workers are currently performing excavation and plumbing activities, selectively demolishing the interiors, and restoring walls, roofs, and chimneys. The dining hall has had some of its panels removed and the library is now empty.

Following the restoration of Old Quincy (now Stone Hall) and Leverett House’s McKinlock Hall, Dunster is the first undergraduate residence to undergo full renewal. (Last fall, the Faculty and Arts and Sciences announced that Winthrop House will be next in the House renovation project.) When Dunster reopens for the 2015-2016 academic year, it will feature horizontal corridors to facilitate movement among the traditional vertical entryways, innovative social and recreational spaces, and better-insulated walls and windows. The residence will maintain its historic neo-Georgian exterior.

During the coming academic year, the Dunster community will be dispersed across Harvard Square. The reconfigured Inn at Harvard will host the House dining hall and administrative offices as well as a number of students and tutors, while House master and co-master Roger and Ann Porter will live a few doors away at 8 Prescott Street; they have already relocated. Ridgely Hall at 65 Mount Auburn Street, Hampden Hall at 8 Plympton Street, Fairfax Hall at 1306 Massachusetts Avenue, and four buildings on Prescott Street will house the rest of the students and tutors.

 

 

Read more articles by Francesca Annic...

You might also like

In 1954, Gregory Corso moved into Eliot House. How he stayed there is a literary legend.

The longtime administrator, who retired from the post in 2018, returns as the College reorganizes. 

A new proposed structure, layoffs, and a five-day-a-week in-person work mandate will take effect by fall.

Most popular

In 2004, a frenzy spread across Harvard Yard in days. Four billion users later, we are only just catching up.

“The Grand Wake for Harvard Indifference”

At noon on November 16, 1938, some 500 Harvard and Radcliffe students jammed Emerson Hall to express their outrage at Kristallnacht, as the...

Harvard Weathers a Year of Turmoil

The federal government has launched unprecedented actions against the University. Here’s a guide.

Explore More From Current Issue

A vibrant illustration of a red car parked, surrounded by cheerful people and historic buildings.

Derek Bok donated his car for a good cause.

Runners compete on a track, with a Harvard athlete in the foreground and others behind.

After a historic 2025-26 season, athletes eye NCAA championships.

Colorful cartoon animals, including dogs, cows, rabbits, and a fence, on a pink background.

Inseparable cows, big dogs fostering a tiny kitten, and a show beagle’s second act